connect with us
Travel & Tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Greek Paths of Culture Win Europa Nostra Heritage Award for 2019

Photo Source:

Photo Source:

Greece’s “Greek Paths of Culture” won a Europa Nostra heritage award in the Education, Training and Awareness-raising category, the European Commission and Europa Nostra announced in The Hague on Tuesday.

Greek Paths of Culture was among 25 laureates from 16 countries recognized for their achievements in conservation, research, dedicated service, and education, training and awareness-raising.

Winners were selected by an independent jury of heritage experts out of a total of 149 applications submitted from 34 European countries.

Greek Paths of Culture is a multi-disciplinary program of selecting, conserving, clearing, sign-posting and linking up public footpaths in areas of particular environmental or cultural importance in Greece.

Established by Elliniki Etairia – Society for the Environment and Cultural Heritage, Greek Paths of Culture has so far restored a total of 658km of hiking and bicycle routes, some dating back to ancient and medieval times in over 13 regions across Greece.

In the meantime, you can vote here for Greece’s award-winner and entry or for any other country vying for the Europa Nostra Public Choice Award 2019.

The winners of the Europa Nostra Heritage Awards 2019

European Heritage Award / Europa Nostra Award 2019 winners, as well as seven Grand Prix laureates and the Public Choice Award winner will be honored at a special ceremony on October 29 in Paris, during the European Heritage Congress. The winners will present their projects at the Excellence Fair on October 28.

Byzantine Church of Hagia Kyriaki on Naxos. Photo source:

“Our cultural heritage is our joint resource, a legacy from the past on which to build our future. It has its place in people’s hearts and in their daily lives – and is crucial in fostering a sense of belonging,” said Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport.

A call for 2020 award entries will be published in June on the dedicated website.

Last year, the Byzantine Church of Hagia Kyriaki on the island of Naxos received a 10,000-euro award after winning the Grand Prix laureate.

Two Greek projects – the ancient city of Karthaia on Kea, and the Bastion of the Grand Master’s Palace on Rhodes – won the Europa Nostra Award in 2017.

About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Related Articles

Add your comment