connect with us
Travel & Tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Greek Hotels among Finalists for ‘Historic Hotels of Europe 2017 Awards’

Marpessa Smart Luxury Hotel

Marpessa Smart Luxury Hotel

The finalists for the Historic Hotels of Europe 2017 Awards have been announced and four Greek hotels are among them. Historic Hotels of Europe will announce the winners in a ceremony on Santorini on October 23.

Historic_Hotels_Award_2017Greece’s Marpessa Smart Luxury Hotel, Allegory Boutique Hotel, Esperas Hotel and Kryimai Hotel have been named finalists among the awards’ 10 categories.

Now in its fifth year, the Historic Hotels of Europe Awards are voted for by the public and give recognition to those historic hotels in the membership across 18 countries.

“Travellers seek not only for the good value but also experiences that enable them to discover the ‘world around them'”, said Barbara Avdis, chair of Historic Hotels of Europe.

marpessa1All the hotels are focused on excellence in hospitality and a commitment to the preservation of European history and culture. The awards celebrate those hotels that have demonstrated exceptional dedication this year by touching the hearts of their guests whilst showcasing their cultural heritage and identity.

“The activities our finalist’s experience span philosophy, antiquities, wine tasting and a gourmet dinner – all are aligned with the intrinsic values of Historic Hotels of Europe”, Avdis added.

All finalists are invited on Sunday, October 23 to an exclusive Awards Ceremony Day on Santorini that includes a discussion forum hosted by VSN Club, a guided visit to the Akrotiri archaeological site and lunch in a tavern by the sea. The Awards 2017 Ceremony & Gala Dinner is being held in the evening at Selene Restaurant in the Santorini Cultural Village.

Historic Hotels of Europe is a membership organisation representing unique places to stay in Europe. Encompassing castles, chateaus, palaces monasteries, convents and more, they have more than 500 members, spanning 18 countries.

This year’s awards are hosted by Yades Greek Historic Hotels and held under the auspices of the Greek Tourism Ministry. The Awards are also supported by the Greek National Tourism Organisation.


The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

City Historic Hotel Award
As Janelas Verdes, Portugal
Hotel Krafft Basel, Switzerland
Marpessa Smart Luxury Hotel, Greece

Historic Hotel Castle Award
Barberstown Castle, Ireland
Chateau de l´Epinay, France
Castle Hotel Rheinfels, Germany

Historic Hotel Countryside Award
Kurhaus Bergun, Switzerland
See-Villa Millstatt, Austria
L’Unicorno, Italy

Historic Hotel Gourmet Award
Lysebu Hotell, Norway
Villa Necas, Slovakia
Villa Sjötorp, Sweden

Historic Hotel Host of the Year
Allegory Boutique Hotel, Greece
Hotel Hviezdoslav, Slovakia
Hotel Union Øye, Norway

Historic Hotel New Member Award
Szent András Kastély, Hungary
Château Gbeľany, Slovakia
Grand Hotel les Trois Rois, Switzerland

Historic Hotel Spa Award
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, Wales
Grandhotel Praha, Slovakia
Solstrand Hotel & Bad, Norway

Historic Hotel Wedding Experience
Hotel Chateau Belá, Slovakia
Rathslagh House, Ireland
Chateau Sundbyholm, Sweden

Historic Hotel with “A Story to Tell”
Apponyi Hotel, Hungary
Grandhotel Starý Smokovec, Slovakia
Hotel Vécsecity, Hungary

Most Romantic Historic Hotel
Esperas Hotel, Greece
Kryimai Hotel, Greece
Mont Juliet, Ireland

About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment