connect with us
Greece's latest tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Greece Remains in Visa Waiver Program of United States

Photo source: John F. Kennedy (JFK) International Airport

Photo source: John F. Kennedy (JFK) International Airport

Greece remains in the United States’ Visa Waiver Program (VWP), the Greek Citizen Protection Ministry said on Monday.

The announcement came following a letter sent to Greek Citizen Protection Minister Olga Gerovasili by US authorities.

Photo source:

“This decision constitutes another important confirmation of Greece’s role as a pillar of security and stability in the region, while reflecting the excellent level of bilateral cooperation with the United States in the field of citizen protection,” the ministry said in an announcement.

The VWP allows individuals from 38 countries* to travel to the United States for tourism or business purposes for up to 90 days without a visa.

Citizens from these 38 countries that plan to travel to the US for temporary business or pleasure must have authorization through the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA), an online system that is part of the VWP.

Information on the VWP can be found here.

* The Visa Waiver Program countries are Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan and United Kingdom.

Follow GTP Headlines on Google News to keep up to date with all the latest on tourism and travel in Greece.
About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment