connect with us
Greece's latest tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages

Archaeological Museum of Tegea Receives Special Commendation at EMYA Awards 2016


Tegea_EMYA_2016_1Greece’s Archaeological Museum of Tegea in Tripoli has received a Special Commendation from the judges of the European Museum of the Year Award (EMYA) 2016, organised by the European Museum Forum (EMF).

The EMYA 2016 award went to POLIN: Museum of the History of Polish Jews, Warsaw, Poland.

Held for 39th time, the EMYA was presented at the 2016 Award Ceremony held in San Sebastian, Spain, in collaboration with TOPIC, Tolosa’s International Puppet Centre, on Saturday, April 9. The ceremony was attended by over 200 people from 29 European countries.

Archaeological Museum of Tegea

Tripoli’s Archaeological Museum of Tegea received the fifth Special Commendation.

Tegea_l_17961“The Judges were impressed by the museum, which uses the rise of the polis, the city-state, as its central theme, exploring the significance of Tegea and the neighbouring archaeological site of the Temple of Athens Alea. The Museum, located in the heart of ancient Arcadia, has placed the visitor at the centre of its thinking with integrated, state-of-the-art electronics, offering a coherent interpretive strategy and a clearly structured narrative”, it is noted on the Special Commendation.

The award was received by the head of Arcadia Antiquities, Dr. Anna Vasiliki Karapanagiotou Economopoulou and archaeologist Grigoris Grigorakakis.

The EMYA is awarded to a museum that has attracted and welcomed its visitors using high museum standards and innovative approaches. The award values museums whose development and innovation in terms of communication, presentation and interpretation have impacted museum standards within Europe.

This year, 49 museums from 24 countries took part in the European competition. The Museum of Typography in Chania was also a nominee.


Results of EMYA 2016 Awards

– EMYA 2016
POLIN: Museum of the History of Polish Jews, Warsaw, Poland

– The Council of Europe Museum Prize 2016
European Solidarity Centre, Gdańsk, Poland

– The Silletto Prize 2016
Vukovar City Museum, Vukovar, Croatia

– The Kenneth Hudson Award 2016
Micropia, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

EMYA 2016 Judging Panel Special Commendations

The following museums have received Special Commendations:

– Monument to Victory, Bolzano, Italy
– Whitworth Art Gallery, Manchester, United Kingdom
– Museum of Bibracte, Mont Beuvray, France (Special Commendation for Sustainability)
– National Military Museum, Soest, The Netherlands
Archaeological Museum of Tegea, Tegea, Greece
– Information Age Galleries, The Science Museum, London, United Kingdom

Follow GTP Headlines on Google News to keep up to date with all the latest on tourism and travel in Greece.
About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment