connect with us
Travel & Tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Travelers Asked To Nominate Their Favorite “Fair Deal” Tour 2013

The European Federation of Tourist Guide Associations (FEG) awards those promoting sustainable tourism

tour guide_DSC05631The European Federation of Tourist Guide Associations (FEG) is re-launching its tourism awards this spring to promote tours that offer a fair deal.

Members of the public – from the “discerning traveler” to the budget back packer – have until mid October to nominate their favorite candidate based on a memorable personal experience.

The winners will be announced in Evora, Portugal, in November 2013 during the 15th FEG European Tourist Guide Meeting.

The Awards

Awards will be made in two categories: Best Fair Deal Tour 2013 and Best Fair Deal Tour Operator/ Travel Agency 2013.

Last year, the proud winner in the first category was “REYKJAVIK TO THE RESCUE,” an adventure tour operated by Iceland Travel.

Apart from a FEG certificate, the winners get free promotion to thousands of qualified tourist guides spread all over Europe, dealing with potential clients on a daily basis.

FEG – representing some 80,000 qualified tourist guides in Europe – aims this way to raise awareness for what is still lacking in many areas of the tourism industry: transparency, quality, standards and a more sustainable approach.

What is a Fair Deal Tour?

A fair deal tour is a tour that is advertised and sold transparently, explaining exactly what you get and where no one is exploited. It’s a tour where all those engaged have all the necessary qualifications and a responsible approach to their activity. Tours of all kinds are eligible, walking tours, coach tours, tours by bicycle, museum tours, any kind of guided tour as long as it fulfills the criteria set down.

Nominate your own favorite candidate

Apart from the Best Fair Deal Tour 2013 you can also nominate the Best Fair Deal Tour Operator / Travel Agency 2013.

Only fee-paying tours and operators and organizers who charge for their services are eligible to win.

The deadline for nominations is 15th October 2013.

For a full list of criteria and more details, press here.

To receive a nomination form, please email

About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.