connect with us
Travel & Tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Greece Included in New Eurail Pass

Eurail is adding a new Eurail Pass Category and new country combinations to the Eurail Regional Pass for 2006. For the first time in its history, Eurail offers single-country rail passes, starting Jan. 1.

Travelers will then be able to become acquainted with one of nine countries included in the Eurail National Pass program: Finland, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Norway, Poland, Romania, Spain or Sweden, with flexible validities from three to 10 travel days valid for one month or two.

“The Eurail National Pass was created to match the way many of our customers travel today,” said Rene de Groot, Eurail’s managing director. “More and more overseas visitors are coming to Europe for shorter periods of time, and this new pass will allow them to comfortably explore one country in depth in one trip.”

The Eurail Group also adds new country combinations to the Eurail Regional Pass, created two years ago to allow unlimited travel in two bordering countries. In addition to the original combinations ( Austria-Slovenia/Croatia; France-Italy; France-Spain; Germany-Benelux; Germany-Denmark; Greece-Italy; Hungary-Slovenia/Croatia; Romania-Hungary and Spain-Portugal), seven new combinations will be added effective from January 2006.

The new combinations include Austria-Czech Republic, Austria-Switzerland, France-Benelux, France-Germany, France-Switzerland, Germany-Austria and Germany-Switzerland.

In addition, the 17 Eurailpass countries with validity allowing 15 days to three months continuous travel, or 10 or 15 travel days within two months (Eurailpass Flexi), will become 18 with the addition of Romania in 2006. There will be no changes to Eurail Selectpasses.

About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment