connect with us
Greece's latest tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Greece Extends Suspension of Entry for Non-EU Citizens

Greece will not open its borders for nationals from outside the European Union, with the exception of citizens from 11 countries, according to an aviation directive (NOTAM) issued by the Hellenic Civil Aviation Authority (HCAA) on Wednesday.

The aviation directive, which has been issued as part of the preventive measures taken to limit the further spread of the coronavirus (Covid-19) virus, will be in force until August 31 (midnight).

The countries that are excluded from the directive are: Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and the United Arab Emirates.

“In order to prove their place of residence, third-country nationals may present their residence permit; work permit; identity card, provided that it indicates their place of residence; driving license or other documents,” HCAA said.

Who else is exempt from the ban

Photo source:

Photo source:

Moreover, exempt from the ban are:

– Nationals of EU member states and the Schengen Agreement, including their spouses or persons with whom they have entered into a cohabitation agreement, as well as their (underage) children.

– Medical and nursing staff, researchers and professionals in the field of health, provided that they show their license to practice or other appropriate documents proving their professional status at Greece’s points of entry; and provided that their entry into the country is connected with the practice of their professional duties.

– Long-term residents of the EU or Schengen Member States and third-country nationals holding a residence permit in the EU or Schengen Member States.

– Members of: government missions, diplomatic or consular authorities and missions, international and European organizations, humanitarian organizations in the performance of their duties.

– Military and security personnel and staff of the General Secretariat for Civil Protection.

– Personnel employed in the field of transport, including seafarers, aircraft crews, crews and hired flight personnel firefighters.

– Drivers of lorries (and their necessary personnel) passing through the country to transport goods.

– Transit passengers, students, elderly carers and people with disabilities, as well as and seasonal agricultural workers.

Third-country nationals subject to the ban have the right to submit a request to the Greek consular authority of their place of residence for their exceptional entry into Greece for professional or personal reasons.

It is reminded that all travelers to Greece are still obliged to complete the Passenger Locator Form (PLF) 24 hours before entering the country.

Follow GTP Headlines on Google News to keep up to date with all the latest on tourism and travel in Greece.
About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.
  1. Susan Williams Reply

    So how did the Beckhams get from the USA – I suspect money talks!

  2. Martin Reply

    What about the UK?

  3. Kenneth Sheasby Reply

    The U.K. in a transition period until 31st of December .Are we included in this directive.

Add your comment