connect with us
Greece's latest tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Stricter Checks at Greek Airports May Cause Delays at Passport Control

Upgraded Boarding Card control points.

A new security measure will be implemented in Greek airports for travelers entering or leaving the Schengen zone

Αs of Sunday, April 7, the EU Regulation 2017/458, which requires systematic checks against relevant databases for all European citizens traveling to/from Non-Schengen destinations, will come into force in Greece’s airports by the Greek police.

The EU regulation requires the passports of passengers travelling outside the Schengen zone to be scanned and cross checked against international and national databases when arriving and leaving airports in Europe.

Photo source: guidepassport.comDue to possible lengthy ques and increased waiting time at check points, passengers traveling to non-Schengen countries are advised to timely attend departure gates to have their passports checked by the Greek police.

Additionally, it is recommended that travelers to/from Non-Schengen destinations to prefer the use of their passport instead of their identity card when traveling in order to speed up control procedures.

According to reports, the Greek police has strengthened its presence with more officers at Athens International Airport (AIA) aiming to accelerate the checks. On its part, AIA has also proceeded with improvements in terms of equipment and services in order for passengers to avoid long queues, especially in departures.

It is noted that domestic flights in Greece, as well as those to / from Schengen countries, are not obliged to implement the new security measures of the EU regulation.

Athens Airport. Photo Source: Athens International Airport (AIA)

Greece is a member of the Schengen Area, along with the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The EU regulation has initially entered into force on 7 April 2017 and Greece, along with Italy and Lithuania, had received an extension to its implementation.

Follow GTP Headlines on Google News to keep up to date with all the latest on tourism and travel in Greece.
About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.
  1. diana giannouli Reply

    Interesting – so what happened to the much published letter from a Greek Minister to the British Ambassador emphasising that the Greek government would do their utmost to make sure that British travellers/tourists/residents would not suffer any inconvenience after Brexit and that their situation would be regarded as being ‘exactly the same’ as it is currently?

Add your comment