connect with us
Greece's latest tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Finalists of 15th UNWTO Awards for Sustainable Tourism Announced

The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) recently announced the finalists to win the 15th UNWTO Awards, which recognize inspirational projects having made an invaluable contribution to advance sustainable tourism.

The UNWTO Awards recognize the contribution of public and private institutions, as well as NGOs, in the development of a more competitive, responsible and sustainable tourism sector that works towards achieving the 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda and its 17 SDGs.

Initiatives from Canada, Colombia, India, Italy, Spain, Switzerland and the Philippines made it to the list of finalists for 2019’s UNWTO Awards, ranging from community-based tourism development and innovation-driven nature conservation to heritage tourism and promotion of accessible tourism.

The nominees are praised for contributing to advance the UNWTO Global Code of Ethics for Tourism and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

For the 15th year of the UNWTO Awards competition, a total of 190 applications from 71 countries were received in the three categories: Public Policy and Governance, Enterprises, and Non-Governmental Organizations.

The award winners to be announced in January 2019.

List of Finalists (in alphabetical order)

UNWTO Award in Public Policy and Governance
Tourism and Peace Programme, Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Tourism, Colombia
Love San Sebastián, Live Donostia, San Sebastian Turismo & Convention Bureau, Spain
Sustainability Whale Watching Charter, SPET – Turismo De Tenerife, Spain

UNWTO Award in Enterprises
Community Impact by V Resorts, V Resorts (under the aegis of Bliss Inns Pvt. Ltd.), India
Fighting food waste at sea: 4GOODFOOD programme, Costa Crociere S.p.A., Italy
Masungi Georeserve: Innovations for Conservation, Masungi Georeserve Foundation, The Philippines

UNWTO Award in Non-Governmental Organizations
Embracing Our Potential, Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association, Canada
Amuse Project, Fundacion Once, Spain
Treadright Foundation Heritage Initiative, Treadright Foundation, Switzerland

Jury committee

UNWTO logoFor this edition the jury committee was made up of eight tourism experts from the public sector, private companies and universities: Diana Robino, Global Tourism Partnerships Lead, Mastercard; Prof. Dimitrios Buhalis, Head of Department Tourism and Hospitality, Bournemouth University, United Kingdom (Affiliate Member); Eduardo Santander, Executive Director/CEO, European Travel Commission; Istvan Ujhelyi, Vice-Chair of the Committee on Transport and Tourism, European Parliament; Jae-sung Rhee, CEO, Seoul Tourism Organization (Affiliate Member); Judy Kepher-Gona, Founder & Director, Sustainable Travel and Tourism Agenda – STTA Kenya; Professor Kaye Chon, Dean and Chair Professor Walter Kwok Foundation Professor in International Hospitality Management School of Hotel and Tourism Management, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (Affiliate Member); and Sally Davey, Director, Industry Affairs, Trip Advisor (Affiliate Member).

Follow GTP Headlines on Google News to keep up to date with all the latest on tourism and travel in Greece.
About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment