connect with us
Greece's latest tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Commission Updates EU Air Safety List, Clears All Kazakh Airlines

The European Commission recently updated the EU Air Safety List, the list of airlines that do not meet international safety standards, and are therefore subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union.

Following the update, all airlines certified in Kazakhstan are cleared from the list, following further improvements to the aviation safety situation in that country.

A total of 193 airlines (from 216 in June 2016) are now banned from EU skies. Iran Aseman Airlines was added to the list due to unaddressed deficiencies. Iraqi Airways (Iraq) and Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname) are also on the list due to safety concerns.

According to the Commission, the EU Air Safety List seeks to ensure the highest level of air safety for European citizens, which is a top priority of the Aviation Strategy adopted in December 2015.

“The EU Air Safety list is one of our main instruments to continuously offer the highest level of air safety to Europeans”, Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc said.

“I am particularly glad that after years of work and European technical assistance, we are today able to clear all Kazakh air carriers. This also is a positive signal for all the countries that remain on the list. It shows that work and cooperation pay off.”

The EU Air Safety List not only helps to maintain high levels of safety in the EU, but it also helps affected countries to improve their levels of safety, in order for them to eventually be taken off the list. In addition, the EU Air Safety List has become a major preventive tool, as it motivates countries with safety problems to act upon them before a ban under the EU Air Safety List would become necessary.

193 airlines banned from EU skies
– 190 airlines certified in 18 states — Afghanistan, Angola (with the exception of one airline which operates under restrictions and conditions), Benin, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon (with the exception of 2 airlines which operate under restrictions and conditions), Indonesia (with the exception of 7 airlines), the Kyrgyz Republic, Liberia, Libya, Mozambique, Nepal, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone and Sudan — due to a lack of safety oversight by the aviation authorities from these states.
– Three individual airlines, based on safety concerns: Iran Aseman Airlines (Iran), Iraqi Airways (Iraq) and Blue Wing Airlines (Suriname).

An additional six airlines are subject to operational restrictions and can only fly to the EU with specific aircraft types: Afrijet and Nouvelle Air Affaires SN2AG (Gabon), Air Koryo (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea), Air Service Comores (the Comoros), Iran Air (Iran) and TAAG Angola Airlines (Angola).

Press here to see the full list of banned airlines.

About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment