connect with us
Greece's latest tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Greek Gov’t Reshuffle Reinstates Tourism Ministry

Hellenic Parliament. Photo © Maria Theofanopoulou

Hellenic Parliament. Photo © Maria Theofanopoulou

Greek Tourism Minister Elena Kountoura.

Greek Tourism Minister Elena Kountoura.

The Tourism Ministry in Greece has been upgraded into an independent entity following a government reshuffle on Friday, November 4. Until the reshuffle, the tourism ministry was operating under the Economy, Development and Tourism Ministry. Elena Kountoura is now Greece’s Tourism Minister, after having served as Alternate Tourism Minister.

Among changes that took place in the Greek government, another three new ministries were created: Migration Policy Ministry, Digital Policy Ministry and Administrative Reform Ministry.

With the reshuffle, three ministries were renamed: the Interior and Public Administration Ministry is now the Interior Ministry, the Economy, Development and Tourism Ministry is now the Economy and Development Ministry and the Infrastructure, Transport and Networks Ministry is now the Infrastructure and Transport Ministry.

According to reports, Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras moved out ministers who had opposed bailout reforms.

The new ministers, alternate ministers and deputy ministers are to be sworn in at the Presidential Mansion at 1pm on Saturday, November 5.

Prime Minister
Alexis Tsipras

Deputy Prime Minister
Yiannis Dragasakis

Internal Affairs Ministry
Minister: Panagiotis Skourletis
Alternate Minister of Citizen Protection: Nikolaos Toskas
Deputy Minister of Macedonia-Thrace: Maria Kollia Tsarouha

Economy and Development Ministry
Minister: Dimitris Papadimitriou
Alternate Minister: Alexandros Haritsis
Deputy Minister: Stergios Pitsiorlas

Digital Policy, Telecommunications and Information Ministry
Minister: Nikolaos Pappas

Defense Ministry
Minister: Panos Kammenos
Alternate Minister: Dimitris Vitsas

Education, Research and Religious Affairs Ministry
Minister: Konstantinos Gavroglou
Alternate Minister of Research: Kostas Fotakis
Deputy Minister: Dimitris Baxevanakis
Deputy Minister: Konstantinos Zouraris

Labor, Welfare and Social Solidarity Ministry
Minister: Effie Achtsioglou
Alternate Minister to combat unemployment: Ourania Antonopoulou
Alternate Minister of Social Solidarity: Theano Fotiou
Deputy Minister of Welfare: Anastasios Petropoulos

Foreign Affairs Ministry
Minister: Nikos Kotzias
Alternate Minister of European Affairs: Giorgos Katrougalos
Deputy Minister: Yiannis Amanatidis
Deputy Minister for Greeks Abroad: Terens Spencer Quick

Justice, Transparency and Human Rights Ministry
Minister: Stavros Kontonis
Alternate Minister: Dimitris Papaggelopoulos

Finance Ministry
Minister: Euclid Tsakalotos
Alternate Minister: Giorgos Houliarakis
Deputy Minister: Katerina Papanatsiou

Health Ministry
Minister: Andreas Xanthos
Alternate Minister: Pavlos Polakis

Administrative Reform Ministry
Minister: Olga Gerovasili

Culture and Sports Ministry
Minister: Lydia Koniordou
Alternate Minister for Sports: Giorgos Vasileiadis

Environment and Energy Ministry
Minister: Yiorgos Stathakis
Alternate Minister: Sokratis Famelos

Infrastructure and Transport Ministry
Minister: Christos Spirtzis
Deputy Minister: Nikolaos Mavraganis

Migration Policy Ministry
Minister: Ioannis Mouzalas
Deputy Minister: Ioannis Balafas

Shipping and Island Policy Ministry
Minister: Panagiotis Kouroublis
Deputy Minister: Nektarios Santorinios

Agriculture and Food Ministry
Minister: Evaggelos Apostolou
Alternate Minister: Ioannis Tsironis
Deputy Minister: Vasileios Kokkalis

Tourism Ministry
Minister: Elena Kountoura

Minister of State
Alexandros Flabouraris

Minister of State
Christoforos Vernardakis

Deputy Minister to the Prime Minister
Dimitris Liakos

Minister of State and Government Spokesman
Dimitris Tzanakopoulos

Follow GTP Headlines on Google News to keep up to date with all the latest on tourism and travel in Greece.
About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment