connect with us
Travel & Tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

13th UNWTO Awards Open for Applications


The UNWTO is calling for tourism initiatives from around the world to apply to the 13th UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism. The deadline for applications is September 30, 2016.

The UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism distinguish innovative tourism initiatives with outstanding achievements in the following four categories: Public Policy and Governance, Enterprises, Non-Governmental Organizations and Research and Technology.

UNWTO-AwardsThe Awards, established in 2003, are the flagship awards for the global tourism sector. They recognize knowledge creation, dissemination and innovative solutions that advance the sector in line with the principles of the UNWTO Global Code of Ethics and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

The winners of the 13th UNWTO Awards will be unveiled on January 18, 2017, in a gala dinner held in collaboration with the International Tourism Trade Fair (IFEMA/FITUR) in Madrid, Spain. Last year, the ceremony hosted 320 high-level participants from more than 50 countries, including 80 ministers, ambassadors and CEOs.

The UNWTO Awards Forum, held on January 16, will highlight the importance of innovation in tourism and showcase the knowledge and achievements of all UNWTO Awards finalists.

About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment