connect with us
Greece's latest tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Vote for Greece in Europa Nostra’s Public Choice Award 2015!

Photo: Georgios Hatzakis

Greece – Award for Research and Digitization: “Restoration of Lasithi Plateau’s Windmills with Perforated Sails”. Photo: Georgios Hatzakis

Greece is among the 28 winners, selected from over 260 nominated projects, of the 2015 EU Prize for cultural heritage/Europa Nostra Awards.

The country was honored with the Conservation Award for the “Antouaniko Mansion in Chios and scored two awards in the Research and Digitization category for the “HERMES: Hermoupolis Digital Heritage Management, Syros and the “Restoration of Lasithi Plateau’s Windmills with Perforated Sails”.

Now, Greece automatically has three entries in the Europa Nostra’s Public Choice vote for the 28 winners.

Make your voice heard and choose your favorite project out of the 28 winners:

European Heritage Awards Ceremony 2015

Europa-Nostra-European-Heritage-AwardsThe winner of the Public Choice Award will be announced at the European Heritage Awards Ceremony, a high-profile event, at Oslo City Hall on June 11.

At the ceremony, all 28 winners will receive a plaque or trophy. The seven Grand Prix laureates, selected by independent expert juries, will also receive 10,000 euros each.

The European Heritage Awards Ceremony will be co-hosted by Fabian Stang, Mayor of Oslo; Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport; and Plácido Domingo, the renowned opera singer and President of Europa Nostra, and will be honoured by the presence of HRH Crown Prince Haakon of Norway.

Attendants will also include heritage professionals, volunteers and supporters from all over Europe as well as by high-level representatives from EU institutions, Member States and the host country. The Minister of Climate and Environment Tine Sundtoft and the Minister of Culture Thorhild Widvey will take part in the event.

The EU Prize for Cultural Heritage/Europa Nostra Awards was launched in 2002 by the European Commission and has been organized by Europa Nostra since then. The award is considered Europe’s most prestigious prize in the heritage field.

Follow GTP Headlines on Google News to keep up to date with all the latest on tourism and travel in Greece.
About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment