connect with us
Greece's latest tourism industry news by Greek Travel Pages (gtp)

Athens Included On New7Wonders Cities Longlist



The Greek capital is included on the longlist of the New7Wonders Cities campaign that was recently revealed by Bernard Weber, Founder-President of New7Wonders.

The naming of the 77 cities marks the completion of the Qualification Phase of the global election, which began on 7 March 2012 and during which voters around the world made their choices from more than 300 cities.

Now, the New7Wonders Cities Panel of Experts will advise on the selection of the 28 Official Finalist Candidates and the shortlist will be presented on Monday 21 October.

Bernard Weber praised the diversity of the cities in the longlist as “extraordinarily stimulating as regards the past, present and future of urban life.”

“My hope is that the New7Wonders Cities campaign will generate debate about the challenges cities face — national and international — and how they are responding to them,” Mr. Weber said.


In alphabetical order, the 77 longlisted New7Wonders Cities are: Accra, Ghana; Asuncion, Paraguay; Athens, Greece; Auckland, New Zealand; Baghdad, Iraq; Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei; Bangkok, Thailand; Barcelona, Spain; Beirut, Lebanon; Bethlehem, Palestine; Bogota, Colombia; Buenos Aires, Argentina; Cairo, Egypt; Casablanca, Morocco; Caracas, Venezuela; Cebu City, Philippines; Cuenca, Ecuador; Chicago, USA; Curitiba, Brazil; Cusco, Peru; Doha, Qatar; Dubai, UAE; Durban, South Africa; Edinburgh, UK; Ha Noi, Viet Nam; Havana, Cuba; Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam; Hong Kong, Hong Kong; Iloilo City, Philippines; Istanbul, Turkey; Jakarta, Indonesia; Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Kyoto, Japan; La Paz, Bolivia; Lagos, Nigeria; Las Vegas, USA; Lima, Peru; London, UK; Mendoza, Argentina; Mexico City, Mexico; Miami, USA; Montevideo, Uruguay; Montreal, Canada; Mumbai, India; Muscat, Oman; Naples, Italy; Nadi, Fiji; Nairobi, Kenya; New York, USA; Panama, Panama; Paris, France; Perth, Australia; Phnom Penh, Cambodia; Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago; Prague, Czech Republic; Quito, Ecuador; Reykjavik, Iceland; Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; Rome, Italy; St. Petersburg, Russia; San Jose, Costa Rica; San Juan, Puerto Rico; Santiago, Chile; Seattle, USA; Seoul, South Korea; Shenzhen, China; Singapore, Singapore; Surakarta, Indonesia; Sydney, Australia; Tehran, Iran; Tokyo, Japan; Toronto, Canada; Valparaiso, Chile; Vancouver, Canada; Vientiane, Laos; Vigan, Philippines; Zurich, Switzerland.

Following the declaration of the 28 Official Finalist Candidates on 21 October, voting for the New7Wonders Cities Finalists will proceed across three qualifying phases.

The Official New7Wonders Cities, chosen by hundreds of millions of votes from around the world, will be revealed on 7 December 2014.

New7Wonders Cities

New7Wonders Cities is the third global vote organized by New7Wonders and follows the successful New7Wonders of the World and New7Wonders of Nature campaigns.

“New7Wonders Cities will be a forum for discussing everything from urban planning to metropolitan governance, from tourism to architecture,” the founder-president of the campaign said.

For details, press here.


Follow GTP Headlines on Google News to keep up to date with all the latest on tourism and travel in Greece.
About the Author
This is the team byline for GTP. The copyrights for these articles are owned by GTP. They may not be redistributed without the permission of the owner.

Add your comment